mercoledì 3 settembre 2014

Sword & Mythos di Silvia Moreno-Garcia e Paula R. Stiles


Titolo: Sword & Mythos 
Autore: AA. VV. a cura di Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Paula R. Stiles 
Editore: Innsmouth Free Press
Genere: fantasy (sword and sorcery), horror
Data di Pubblicazione: 14 aprile 2014
Pagine: 316
Disponibile in formato ebook in inglese su Amazon


“The blades of heroes clash against the darkest sorcery.
Aztec warriors ready for battle, intent on conquering a neighboring tribe, but different gods protect the Matlazinca.
For Arthur Pendragon, the dream of Camelot has ended. What remains is a nightmarish battle against his own son, who is not quite human.
Master Yue, the great swordsman, sets off to discover what happened to a hamlet that was mysteriously abandoned. He finds evil.
Sunsorrow, the ancient dreaming sword, pried from the heart of the glass god, yearns for Carcosa.
Fifteen writers, drawing inspiration from the pulp sub-genres of sword and sorcery and the Cthulhu Mythos, seed stories of adventure, of darkness, of magic and monstrosities. From Africa to realms of neverwhere, here is heroic fantasy with a twist.”...

Commento: Cosa accade se gli eroi e le eroine dello sword and sorcery di Robert E. Howard incontrano i terrificanti Cthulhu di H.P. Lovecraft? Per scoprirlo è sufficiente acquistare Sword & Mythos, il nuovo ebook della Innsmouth Free Press, curato da Silvia Moreno-Garcia e Paula R. Stiles, che raccoglie una elettrizzante antologia di racconti i quali hanno come tema la fusione dei due generi letterari predetti. All’interno dell’ebook potremo leggere le seguenti storie:
“The Iron Hut” di Maurice Broaddus
“Jon Carver of Barzoon, You Misunderstood” di Graham J. Darling
“Sunsorrow” di Paul Jessup
“The Wood of Ephraim” di Edward M. Erdelac
“Truth is Order and Order is Truth” di Nadia Bulkin
“Spirit Forms of the Sea” di Bogi Takács
“The Bones of Heroes” di Orrin Grey
“Light” di Diana Paxson
“The Serpents of Albion” di Adrian Chamberlin
“The Call of the Dreaming Moon” di Thana Niveau
“Black Caesar: The Stone Ship Rises” di Balogun Ojetade
“And After the Fire, a Still Small Voice” di E. Catherine Tobler
“No Sleep for the Just” di William Meikle
“The Sorrow of Qingfeng” di Grey Yue
“In Xochitl in Cuicatl in Shub-Niggurath” di Nelly Geraldine Garcia-Rosas

Inoltre sono presenti quattro saggi di G.W. Thomas, Silvia Moreno-Garcia e Paula R. Stiles.